Spiced Crème Brûlée

By the time you read this, I’ll probably be crazy jet lagged in New York City and/or dragging my poor boyfriend Erlend around to the 12+ bakeries that I want to visit. Everybody’s probably crazy busy with Christmas coming up so fast, so I’ll keep today’s post short and sweet by asking: what’s on your Christmas wish list?

Erlend and I exchanged Christmas presents early since we didn’t want to drag our presents all the way to New York with us. I gave him the waterproof shoes that he requested (we do live in Portland, after all),  along with this lovely sweater made from Alpaca wool and leather elbow patches that I hopefully will steal for myself one day. He also got me a pair of leather walking boots, and a slow cooker to help me with dinners on weekday nights, something I am notoriously awful at making for myself.

Other items on my wish list?

…and more, but I’m too embarrassed by my rampant consumerism to list them all here. So for now, let’s move on to these spiced crème brûlée teacups. These were adapted from my ebook, 12 Days of Christmas Desserts, which is available for download for FREE to anybody:

This recipe puts a holiday twist on traditional French crème brûlée — instead of a traditional vanilla bean custard, the custard’s cream base has been infused with cinnamon sticks, star anise, nutmeg and cloves. I like to think that they taste like Christmas in a cup, since you can bake them in ovenproof teacups for a particularly festive look.

Happy Holidays, everybody!

Read more »

Leave a Reply

