Christmas in New York City

So as you can tell from the pictures above, I went to New York City for the holiday season to spend Christmas with Erlend (the boyf in the yellow beanie above) and his parents. His parents have a lovely place in the Upper West Side, and, fortunately enough, appreciate me and Erlend’s penchant to eat everything in sight. Together, the four of us ATE ALL THE THINGS, including stops at Momofuku Ssam and Milk Bar, Marco’s in Prospect Heights, Aamann Copenhagen and more.
And of course, no trip to NYC is complete without a food tour. Here are all the places I dragged Erlend to, in alphabetical order… you’re in for a ride! I took a LOT of photos during this trip, so don’t be surprised if you’ll be doing a lot of scrolling. Ready? Okay:
THE SWEET
Bouchon Bakery in Columbus Circle, Manhattan

So, for those of you with a good memory will remember that I actually visited Thomas Keller’s Bouchon Bakery during my previous visit to New York back in May. I enjoyed their baked goods so much that I wanted to go back. Their baked goods are HUGE, with a chocolate chip cookie the size of my face and macarons the size of my palm:
Okay, first of all, pictures of ME eating a cookie! Rarely do you ever see me on this blog — normally I’m the one behind the camera. Admittedly not the most flattering pictures, but whatever. I was too distracted by the giant cookie to look at the camera, as you can tell. It’s almost like you can see me thinking about my plan of attack.
Now let’s talk about these macarons. They are probably some of my favorite macarons I’ve ever had. They are literally the size of your palm, and for $3.50. The best part? If you get a fruit flavored one, they have a dollop of tart jam in the center to balance out the sweetness. In the pictures above, Erlend’s holding a pistachio one on the left, and I’m holding their Christmas special, which was a cranberry flavored macaron with cream cheese frosting and cranberry jam in the center. So, so good. You guys don’t even KNOW.
So, hype meter is running high here — celebrity chef (Thomas Keller), best selling cookbook, and locations in all the hip places. Worth it? I say yes, especially if you’re fond of macarons, croissants and chocolate chip cookies.

    Read more »

    Leave a Reply

    